Australia & New Zealand Nominees announced for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize


- Share -

The Woolmark Company is pleased to announce the Australia and New Zealand nominees for the International Woolmark Prize, one of the most coveted designer awards in fashion.  The regional award will be held on 6 July 2016 in Sydney.

The Australia and New Zealand nominees for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize are:

Daniel Avakian – Australia
macgraw – Australia
KACEY/DEVLIN – Australia
Roopa Pemmaraju – Australia
Georgia Alice – New Zealand
Harman Grubiša - New Zealand
Lucilla Gray - New Zealand

Ex Infinitas – Australia
Chris Ran Lin – Australia
SHHORN – Australia
AMXANDER – Australia

First launched in 1953 by the International Wool Secretariat, the prize was famously awarded in 1954 to Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent in Paris. Today, the International Woolmark Prize continues to recognise outstanding design talent from around the world.

More than 75 designers have been selected from 62 countries to participate in this year’s award, which showcases the superb qualities of Australian Merino wool.

Six regional events will be held during June and July in Hong Kong, Milan, Mumbai, New York, London, and Sydney. Nominees will present one look in Merino wool and a six-piece capsule concept to industry experts for the chance to represent their region at the final awards.

Twelve finalists will each receive a AU$50,000 financial contribution towards their next collection and an invitation to participate in the international finals.

The winners of the menswear and womenswear finals will receive a further AU$100,000 to assist with fabric sourcing and marketing of their collection along with invaluable mentoring from industry experts. In addition, both international winners will have the opportunity to have their collection distributed through prestigious international retail partners including Harvey Nichols in the UK, David Jones in Australia, Boutique 1 in the UAE, Verso in Belgium, LECLAIREUR in Paris, Boon the Shop in South Korea, The Papillion in Indonesia and online through (womenswear) and (menswear).

The Woolmark Company recognises the support of the official nominating bodies in Australia and New Zealand including the Australian Fashion Chamber, IMG Australia and New Zealand Fashion Week. Globally, the award is supported by key fashion councils including the Council of Fashion Designers America, British Fashion Council and Premsela Foundation. Please click here to view the full list.

The International Woolmark Prize boasts an impressive alumni of the most important designers from around the globe, as well as partnerships with leading fashion figures including Thom Browne, Alexander Wang and Roland Mouret.

The Woolmark Company is pleased to have the support of Wine Australia as the official drinks partner for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize.


For further information, interview or images please contact:

Annelinde Rossman

You may also like