India, Pakistan & Middle East Nominees announced for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize


- Share -

The Woolmark Company is pleased to announce the India, Pakistan & Middle East regional nominees for the International Woolmark Prize, one of the most coveted designer awards in fashion. The award ceremony will be held on 15th July 2016 in Mumbai.

The India, Pakistan & Middle East regional nominees for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize are:

Nachiket Barve, India
Sahil Kochhar, India
Eka, India
Bashar Assaf, Lebanon
Mira Hayek, Lebanon
Saira*Shakira, Pakistan
Zonia Anwaar, Pakistan
Republic Womenswear, Pakistan
Bouguessa, Middle East
Bint Thani, Middle East
Reem Al Kanhal, Middle East

Bounipun, India
House of Arsalan Iqbal, Pakistan
Emperor 1688, Middle East
Mashael Alrajhi, Middle East

First launched in 1953 by the International Wool Secretariat, the prize was famously awarded in 1954 to Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent in Paris. Today the International Woolmark Prize continues to recognise outstanding design talent from around the world.

More than 75 designers have been selected from 62 countries to participate in this year’s award, which showcases the qualities of Australian Merino wool.

Apart from Mumbai, India, there will be five other regional events which will be held during July in Hong Kong, Sydney, Milan, London and New York. Nominees will present one look in Merino wool and a six-piece capsule concept to industry experts for the chance to represent their region at the final awards. Twelve finalists will each receive an AU$50,000 financial contribution towards their next collection and an invitation to participate in the international global finals.

Furthermore, the six menswear finalists will meet in London in January 2017 and the six womenswear finalists will meet in Paris in March 2017. The winners of the menswear and womenswear finals will receive a further AU$100,000 to assist with fabric sourcing and marketing of their collection and mentoring from industry experts. In addition, both international winners will have the opportunity to have their collection distributed through prestigious international retail partners including Harvey Nichols in the UK, David Jones in Australia, Boutique 1 in the UAE, Verso in Belgium, Leclaireur in Paris, Boon the Shop in South Korea, The Papillion in Indonesia and online through (womenswear) and (menswear)

The Woolmark Company recognises the support of IMG Reliance (India), Pakistan Fashion Design Council (Pakistan), Dubai Design and Fashion Council (Dubai) and Tala Starch Foundation (Lebanon) as the official nominating bodies in India, Pakistan & Middle East.

Globally, the award is supported by key fashion councils including the Council of Fashion Designers America, British Fashion Council, Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Madrid and Premsela Foundation.

The International Woolmark Prize boasts an impressive alumni of the most important designers from around the globe, as well as partnerships with leading fashion figures including Thom Browne, Alexander Wang and Roland Mouret.

You may also like