Judges announced for the 2015/16 International Woolmark Prize womenswear final


- Share -

The womenswear final of the 2015/16 International Woolmark Prize will be judged on 12 February, 2016 in New York as part of New York Fashion Week, marked by a special runway presentation of the six finalists’ capsule collections in Merino wool. The finalists – J Koo (Asia), Bianca Spender (Australia), Teatum Jones (British Isles), Nanna Van Blaaderen (Europe), Taller Marmo (India, Pakistan & Middle East) and Tanya Taylor (USA) – will present their work to an esteemed judging panel of international industry figures, including:

  • André Leon Talley, respected fashion author, editor and consultant, former Editor-at-Large, American Vogue
  • Imran Amed, Founder, CEO & Editor-in-Chief, Business of Fashion
  • Tim Blanks, Editor-at Large, Business of Fashion
  • Stefano Tonchi, Editor-in-Chief, W magazine
  • Julie Gilhart, fashion consultant and International Woolmark Prize mentor
  • Thakoon Panichgul, Chief Creative Officer, THAKOON
  • Colette Garnsey, Director, Australian Wool Innovation (parent company of The Woolmark Company)
  • Stuart McCullough, Managing Director, The Woolmark Company

In addition, representatives from the International Woolmark Prize’s retail partners will also serve on the judging panel, including Justin O’Shea, Global Fashion Director, Mytheresa.com; Sophie Clark, General Manager of Womenswear, David Jones; Anita Barr, Group Fashion Buying Director, Harvey Nichols Group; Bridget Cosgrave, Fashion and Buying Director, Boutique 1; Kenji Yamashita, General Manager Ladies & Intimate Apparel, Isetan Mitsukoshi and Roopal Patel, Senior Vice President, Fashion Director, Saks Fifth Avenue.

The International Woolmark Prize retailer network now also includes new partners Verso, Belgium and Boon the Shop, S. Korea. Retail partners will exclusively stock the winning collections from September 2016.

“There is a strong association between wool and high-end designer womenswear through the International Woolmark Prize, both now and in its first iteration in the 1950s. Some of the world’s greatest emerging design talent have demonstrated what an essential luxury fibre it is to the fashion world,” says Stuart McCullough, Managing Director of The Woolmark Company. “This year’s entrants show great diversity in their vision – which in turn shows the versatility of wool – and so like the menswear final, it is certain to be a tough decision.”

Chosen from more than 70 nominees, the womenswear finalists for the 2016 prize represent the regions of Asia; Australia; the British Isles; Europe; India, Pakistan and the Middle East; and the United States of America. The winner of the International Woolmark Prize will receive AU$100,000 to help support the development of their business and ongoing industry mentor support, as well as the presentation and sale of their capsule collection in some of the world’s most prestigious department stores and boutiques.

You may also like