USA Nominees announced for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize


- Share -

The Woolmark Company is pleased to announce the USA nominees for the International Woolmark Prize, one of the most coveted designer awards in fashion.

The USA regional award will be held in July in New York City.

The USA nominees for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize are:

Gabriella Hearst
Nellie Partow
Sally LaPointe

Abasi Rosborough
Pyer Moss

First launched in 1953 by the International Wool Secretariat, the prize was famously awarded in 1954 to Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent in Paris. Today the International Woolmark Prize continues to recognize outstanding design talent from around the world.

More than 75 designers have been selected from 62 countries to participate in this year’s award, which showcases the qualities of Australian Merino wool.

Six regional events will be held during July in Hong Kong, Sydney, Milan, London, New York and Mumbai. Nominees will present one look in Merino wool and a six-piece capsule concept to industry experts. The 12 winning finalists will each receive an AU$50,000 financial contribution towards their next collection and an invitation to participate in the international global finals.

The winners of the menswear and womenswear finals will receive a further AU$100,000 to assist with fabric sourcing and marketing of their collection and mentoring from industry experts. In addition, both international winners will have the opportunity to have their collection distributed through prestigious international retail partners including Harvey Nichols in the UK, David Jones in Australia, Boutique 1 in the UAE, Verso in Belgium, LECLAIREUR in Paris, Boon the Shop in South Korea, The Papillion in Indonesia and online through (womenswear) and (menswear).

The Woolmark Company recognises the support of the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) as the official nominating body in the USA. Globally, the award is supported by key fashion councils including the British Fashion Council, Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Madrid and Premsela Foundation.

The International Woolmark Prize boasts an impressive alumnus of the most important designers from around the globe, as well as partnerships with leading fashion figures including Thom Browne, Alexander Wang and Roland Mouret.

The Woolmark Company is pleased to have the support of Wine Australia as the official drinks partner for the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize.

You may also like